2021 Washington State Primary Endorsements

Candidates earned these endorsements by attending COPE (Committee on Political Education) interviews with IUPAT DC 5, Seattle/King County Building Trades, Martin Luther King Labor Council and other affiliate Labor Councils in the State of Washington. Please note, several candidates endorsed have an asterisk notation as they are also unionized campaigns with Local 116.

School Districts

Jennifer Fichamba – Highline School District

Melissa Bradford – Spokane County School District

Riley Smith Spokane County School Board

Michelle Sarju – Seattle School District 5

Brandon Hersey – Seattle School District 7

Bothell City Council

Josh Binda *Campaign Unionized with IUPAT Local 116

Jenne Alderks *Campaign Unionized with IUPAT Local 116

Rami Al-Kabra *Campaign Unionized with IUPAT Local 116


City of Seattle Mayor – No endorsement during primaries, will endorse for General.

Nikkita Oliver – Seattle City Council Position 9

Teresa Mosqueda – Seattle City Council Position 8

Pete Holmes – Seattle City Attorney

King County

Joe Nyugen, Dual Endorsement King County Executive.

Dow Constantine, Dual Endorsement King County Executive

Rod Dembowski for King County Council District 1

Sarah Perry for King County Council District 3

Dave Upthegrove for King County Council District 5

Dustin Lambro, King County Hospital District 1 Commissioner District 2

Monique Taylor-Swan, King County Hospital District 1 Commissioner District 4

Dual – Chris Franco and Kim-Khanh Van, King County Council District 9

Best Starts for Kids Levy – Approve

Port of Seattle

Ryan Calkins –  Port of Seattle Commissioner Position 1

Toshiko Hasegawa – Port of Seattle Commissioner Position 4 DUAL Endorsement

Peter Steinbrueck – Port of Seattle Position 4 DUAL Endorsement

Stephanie Bowman – Port of Seattle Position 3


Joseph Todd – Renton City Council Position 1

Carmen Rivera – Renton City Council Position 2


Satwinder Kaur – Kent City Council Position 2

Clifford Cawthon –  Kent City Council Position 4 *Campaign Unionized with IUPAT Local 116

Dawn Bennett – Kent Mayor *Campaign Unionized with IUPAT Local 116


Hugo Garcia –  Burien City Council Position 1

Jimmy Matta – Burien City Council Position 3

Sarah Moore – Burien City Council Position 5

Krystal Marx – Burien City Council Position 7


Lynne Robinson – Bellevue Mayor

Ruth Lipscomb – Bellevue City Council Position 4


Jake Simpson – SeaTac City Council Position 2 *Campaign Unionized with IUPAT Local 116

Mohamed Egal –  SeaTac City Council Position 4

Iris Guzman –  SeaTac City Council Position 6


Larry Brown – Auburn City Council Position 6


Tosh Sharp – Tukwila City Council Position 1

Dennis Maritnez – Tukwila City Council Position 3

De’Sean Quinn – Tukwila City Council Position 7

Federal Way

Jim Ferrell – Federal Way Mayor.

Gregory Baruso – Federal Way City Council Position 2

Katherine Festa – Federal Way City Council Position 4

Leandra Craft –  Federal Way City Council Position 5

Martin Moore –  Federal Way City Council Position 6

Des Moines

Harry Steinmetz – Des Moines City Council Position 1

Soleil Lewis –  Des Moines City Council Position 7

Bellingham & Whatcom County

Kristina Michele –  Bellingham City Council Position 7

Rebecca Lewis – Whatcom County Council District 3 *Campaign Unionized with IUPAT Local 116

Kaylee Galloway – Whatcom County Council District 1

Barry Buchanan – Whatcom County Council At Large Position A

Port of Bellingham Commissioner 2 – Kelly Kreiger

Port of Olympia

Jessie Simmons – Port of Olympia Position 2 *Campaign Unionized with IUPAT Local 116


Karl de Jong –  City Council Position 6 *IUPAT Local 1094 member


Zach Zappone Spokane City Council District 3 – Position 2

Sherazi Naghmana Spokane City Council District 1 – Position 2 *Campaign Unionized with IUPAT Local 116